Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Dereliction

Posted by Jackie on June 7, 2009

IMGP6882

The East End is a part of the city I really don’t know – as I live in the south and work in the west, and don’t know anyone living there I just don’t ever get out that way at all. Last week though I briefly had the chance to spend some time there. This wall is along Duke Street, leading away from the Merchant City area towards the Dennistoun area of the city. The wall itself looks like it’s seen better days, and the other side of it is wasteland.

With the Commonwealth Games coming to Glasgow in 2014, there are plans for the East End to be redeveloped (much like the East End of London for the Olympics in 2012). It has some of the most deprived council wards in the country, so redevelopment is very welcome, and I hope that the effects last beyond the Games. We’ll see.

9 Responses to “Dereliction”

  1. babooshka said

    I hope so too. Reminds me of my native Birmingham. Places just not familiar with but know have not faired so well.

  2. I maybe like you need to “get out more.” Fun to explore a new part of town. Nice photo with a cool glimpse through the windows!

  3. Jacob said

    This situation is replicated in cities around the world. I’m not sure of the answer. But, with you, I hope they can keep up the area following the games.

  4. Katya said

    It’s always a sad commentary to see sections of cities falling into disrepair. I often think those living there become apathetic to their surroundings as any attempts to tidy up are useless. Let’s hope that the games will bring a new sense of pride to the area that will result in some nice renovations!!!

  5. Lara said

    spooky area! I never understood why some parts of the cities are not well taken care of…

  6. we’ll see…
    dereliction is all part of urban life these days – greece is full of derelict buildings, both in and out of the urban centres, and there are plenty of people needing to be housed int he cities…

  7. m_m said

    Yes, it is needed to renovate such areas, but they also have sth unique, atmosphere, maybe soul. I can’t find a word to describe them:)

  8. marley said

    Good image. The area must be glad regeneration is coming.

  9. great angle

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.