Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Back in the Botanics

Posted by Jackie on June 18, 2009

IMGP6832

This is another plant from the glasshouse in the Botanic Gardens.

7 Responses to “Back in the Botanics”

  1. tapirgal said

    Jackie, that’s very striking, and very appealing! I love tropical greenhouses! Nice photo.

  2. Katya said

    Amazing shot, Jackie! This one, I would entitle…”Heart on a string”!

  3. Jacob said

    I should have more attention when studying botany as I have no clue what this is, but I like it and your photograph is stunning!

  4. tash said

    Ha! That’s the biggest spadix on what looks like a variety of Zantedeschia (but I’m not sure) that I’ve ever seen. Fun & funny find.

  5. Alec said

    I wish I had thought of heart on a string.

  6. Dianne said

    my favorite thing about these flowers is that they’re so sturdy yet look so delicate and lovely

    great close-up

    it’s been raining here for days and days and well – Biblical rain
    I’m making believe it’s Scotland 😉

  7. Tinsie said

    OK this is officially the longest spandix I’ve ever seen on an anthurium!

    I used to think anthuriums were cute, until someone pointed out that they’re actually quite suggestive and I’ve never been able to shake the connotation off. Ahem.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
