Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Pan?

Posted by Jackie on June 23, 2009

IMGP6891

This statue is in the Winter Gardens, by the People’s Palace. I can’t for the life of me remember what it depicts though – I’ve got Peter Pan in my head but I’m not convinced and am probably just making that up! Any locals help me out?

6 Responses to “Pan?”

  1. Jani said

    It reminds me of the Piper of Hamelin, the guy who rid a town from rats and then took the children away when he didn’t get paid. Maybe there’s a tale in Glasgow legend about a piper leading the squirrels from Glasgow into the Clyde.
    Maybe not, as they’re still everywhere in Kelvingrove Park, falling out of the trees.

  2. Hilda said

    Not Peter, but the Greek god — though as a young boy. Whoever it’s supposed to be, I like it. Wonderful monochrome too!

  3. a great image

  4. Scott said

    I think that might be the Peter Pan statue by Thomas Nugent. I might be wrong though. Good capture of it anyway!

  5. Katya said

    Well, I dunno, Jackie, but that sure portrays innocence quite well. Love the little squirrel, too!

  6. m_m said

    Maybe but I do not remember if he play the trumpet:)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
