Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Transport Museum

Posted by Jackie on July 8, 2009

IMGP5886

I visited Glasgow’s Transport Museum ages and ages ago, and never did get round to sharing any photos here. So I’ll post a few over the next few weeks (not all together, but depends on how many pictures of other things I can dig out to vary it a bit!). The Museum is in part of the Kelvin Hall, where they also hold a number of sporting events. It has rather outgrown its venue though (having been there since 1964), and they are in the process of building a purpose-built shiny new building to house the Transport Museum, on the banks of the Clyde. That’s due to open in 2011. In the meantime, the Transport Museum remains Glasgow’s second-most visited free attraction (after the Kelvingrove Museum which is over the road).

This picture shows a view looking down on some of Glasgow’s old trams. They don’t make them like they used to (just ask Edinburgh 😉 ).

9 Responses to “Transport Museum”

  1. Andrew said

    Hope you don’t mind Jackie, but there is ten minute doco on youtube about the last Glasgow trams. Note the woman driving the tram with a ciggie in her hand. I can’t recall if it is in the video, but after the system closed, women tram drivers were not allowed to become bus drivers. If anyone hasn’t seen and it and would like to, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kO2DmTnXlDA or search youtube for ‘the last tram’.

  2. Wayne said

    How did I miss this? Transport Museums are right up my street. And it’s free too!

  3. Jen said

    I love the transport museum – and my grandad’s name is in there on a big board because he was a shipbuilder on the Clyde.

  4. tom donald said

    the transport museum was on the south side until some time in the early eighties wasn’t it?

  5. Ah that’s great! I sometimes wonder if our fast trains are better than what we used to have…

  6. m_m said

    I love such museums!

  7. Katya said

    Very cool!!! Love, love, love historical things like this!!!

    This looks like an interesting and informative museum!

  8. I’m a little bit behind but great photo! I love the double decker! Handsome photo!

  9. Jackie said

    Tom, I thought the Transport Museum was on the south side (at what is now the Tramway theatre) till the mid-60s. But I’ve just checked and it seems you’re absolutely right, it was there mid-60s till mid-80s. I must have got a bit confused, maybe it was the hall the museum is now housed in that was built in the 60s.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
