Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Day Tripping (8) – Millport, Great Cumbrae

Posted by Jackie on July 20, 2009

IMGP6521

A few months ago I did a week-long series of photos of places you can visit in a day trip out of Glasgow. I’ve decided to do the same thing again this week, and will bring you a few more of our nearby gems. I must admit I’m also getting a bit low on Glasgow photos, and there’s a sad reason for that – a week ago my camera died 😦 So I’m gradually working through old photos to put up on the blog, and then I might have to slow things down on the blog for a bit. My husband is really kindly letting me use his camera, but I think what with work and life pressures (thesis writing and applying for jobs, mainly, both of which are pretty stressful!) the blog will have to go on the back burner for a bit. I’ll still keep it up while I have photos (and I’ve still got quite a lot of Sibiu photos to get through so Sibiu DP will keep going for a while), but it might be that I slow this down to every 2 or 3 days for a while till life gets a bit less chaotic.

Anyway, back to this week. Day tripping. This photo was taken in January this year, and is of Millport, which is the only town on the island of Great Cumbrae, which is in the Firth of Clyde a mile and a half or so from the west coast. A short (10 minutes or so) ferry ride from the town of Largs (just under an hour’s train ride away from Glasgow Central station) gets you to the island, and another short bus ride gets you from the landing site to Millport, where we started our walk. The island isn’t particularly hilly so the walking is generally quite gentle, but there are some great views across to the neighbouring islands of Little Cumbrae (which is privately owned), Arran and Bute. This view is of Millport harbour. You might be able to see a church spire in the background – that is the Scottish Episcopal Church’s Cathedral of the Isles, which is the smallest cathedral in the British Isles (and, I think, might be the smallest cathedral in Europe, though I’m not certain about that).

Although being the only town on a small island, with a population of (I think) just a couple of thousand, if that, Millport manages to host a festival every September. You might not think it from the view here, but for a week every September for the last 15 years, Millport is turned into an outpost of the wild west for the country and western festival. Also in September there is an annual swim from Millport to Largs.

13 Responses to “Day Tripping (8) – Millport, Great Cumbrae”

  1. Looks like a lovely island town – worth a visit I’m sure! I but the traffic isn’t bad on the island!

  2. Lara said

    I like these places, with houses on the shore, boats, and glittering water…

  3. Sad to hear about your camera. I should tell you that the scene at Gateway of India in Mumbai, is very similar to the one you have put up in this post!!! Nice shot!

  4. Truly, it looks beautiful 🙂

  5. Gerald said

    Only been to Millport once and alas didn’t stay long enough to explore much – hope you get a new camera soon.

  6. Hilda said

    It looks like a wonderfully peaceful town from here.
    I hope you get a new camera soon, but more than that, I hope you find a job that earns well but allows you to continue your thesis writing! Good luck, Jackie!

  7. Tinsie said

    This is a lovely photo! Sorry to hear about your camera dying 😦

  8. Antonella said

    What a lovely and pictoresque little harbour. Just the kind of place I’d like to live! All the best. Ciao. A.

  9. Jackie said

    Antonella, we checked out the house prices while we were there and were surprised at how affordable the prices were, it was very tempting!

  10. m_m said

    Beautiful view! I like the capture of the row of the buildings near to the water:)

  11. marley said

    Porr old camera 😦 This place looks lovely though!

  12. JM said

    Beautiful and quiet spot! Sorry about your camera…

  13. Katya said

    Jackie, this is such a delightful looking place! Love the water…the boats…everything! Hard to believe such an ideal place would be affordable!!!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
