Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Railway bridge

Posted by Jackie on October 30, 2009

SANY0113

This is the bridge that carries trains to and from Central Station. Standing underneath it on the walkway with a train going overhead is quite the deafening experience.

I only noticed very recently that the round structure (no idea what it’s called) has writing carved in it, but even when I enlarge the picture I can’t make out what it says. Some of the characters look Greek to me, but I could well be making that up!

8 Responses to “Railway bridge”

  1. Andrew said

    A good place to have a ‘scream’ ala the movie Cabaret.

  2. dianne said

    I went back to see the shots I missed
    A wonderful series of bridge shots, I love all the lines and angles

  3. Kcalpesh said

    Interesing. Writing carved on a pillar of a bridge that carries the train… hope nothing of a historic value 😀 There are a lot of subways here which are roofless. I mean you can see the railway tracks running across. Whenever a train passes, no matter what you’re doing, you need to free your hands to cover your ears… 😐

    Pixellicious Photos

  4. These are the piers of the original 1879 bridge into the first uncovered Glasgow Central Station which was sited where platforms 1 to 4 now are.

  5. Katya said

    Very unique and quite beautiful, in a concrete and mortar sort of way! Interesting the writing on the “pillars”….wonder what it says? Somehow, I find that stairway leading to the water quite unnerving!!!!!!

  6. James said

    Great blogs.

    I’ve added you to my bloglovin’ feeds!

  7. somewhatirascible said

    The slogan carved into the pillars says ‘all greatness stands firm in the storm’. It’s translated into English as well – I’m not cool enough to be able to read Greek, unfortunately!

    Wonderful blog, by the way.

  8. amy said

    i like trains, how old is it

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
