Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Better to die on your feet than live forever on your knees

Posted by Jackie on November 2, 2009

SANY0107

This photo is of the statue commemorating all those who went and fought (and died) in the Spanish Civil War. It is on the Clyde walkway, between the railway bridge and the footbridge I was showing earlier last week. The quote above is at the foot of the statue, which is called ‘La Pasionaria’ and is of Dolores Ibarurri, a heroine of the anti-fascist movement in Spain. It was made by Arthur Dooley of Liverpool and had quite a controversial and troubled history (there are some details here). The plaque underneath the statue reads:

The City of Glasgow and the British Labour Movement pay tribute to the courage of those men and women who went to Spain to fight fascism 1936-39. 2,100 volunteers went from Britain, 534 were killed, 65 of whom came from Glasgow.

In other news, today is this blog’s 2nd birthday! It is also the first day of my new job, and so as good a time as any to think about what to do with the blog. My job involves a lot of home visiting, and is, it has to be said, not in the most photogenic part of the city, and so it will be very inappropriate for me to carry a camera around. In the evenings I will be working on my PhD, which is still (still!) being written up, so I’m not going to have a ton of time for photography, and so I’m probably going to slow down a bit on the blog. I’ve still got some old photos from the last few years that I could use, but not loads, so probably will run out reasonably soon. I don’t want to stop the blog completely, but it will become considerably more “occasional” than “daily” in the coming weeks. My other daily photo blog (Sibiu) still has enough photos to probably last till the end of the year, but that always was going to be limited as I’ve not been back there for a couple of years now.

I’m thinking when life is a bit less manic, some time next year, I might start another photography blog, that’s a bit less location-specific, but I think I’ll need a break. Well, and a camera as well, as mine broke a while back and I’ve been using my husband’s for the last couple of months. We’ll see how it goes. For now though hopefully I’ll keep this one daily for a couple more weeks before slowing down a bit. Thanks for all the visits and comments though, I do read every one and really appreciate them 🙂

9 Responses to “Better to die on your feet than live forever on your knees”

  1. Andrew said

    Well done with two years worth of photos. Look forward to more, even if less often.

  2. Hilda said

    I like the quotation very much!
    Happy blog birthday, Jackie! Good luck with the new job, and continuing good luck with the dissertation. What with all that going on, it’s perfectly understandable for Glasgow DP to go occasional. Whatever your decision, I just hope you don’t completely abandon it! I really like knowing more about a city that I knew next to nothing about before your blog. My best wishes for everything!

  3. Sven said

    Happy Anniversary! Best wishes! Some weekend shot every now and then will be highly appreciated.

  4. Katya said

    Interesting statue!

    Happy Blogiversary!!!(or something like that!)

    I really enjoy your blog and will be sad to see it slow down. I feel I have lerned so much about Glasgow visiting here, but I can certainly understand how life causes blogging to take “second fiddle”!

    Best wishes on your new job!!! And the PhD as well!!!

  5. marley said

    Fantastic quote. And statue too.

    Happy 2 year anniversary. Congratulations, its a great achievement.

    In relation to slowing down or stopping just do what you’ve got to do. I’m considering starting a different kind of photoblog too, not daily and just of whatever I fancy. It would mean stopping Cheltenham DP, but maybe its time for a new challenge. Anyway, carry on while you can 🙂

  6. Linda said

    Happy anniversary! Daily photos are HARD – I recommend the occasional format. I’ve enjoyed getting to know Glasgow a bit better through your blog. We still have to visit son at the Uni – we’re keeping our distance just now to let him settle in without hovering parents. But I think the univ orchestra has a concert coming up in December that we’ll go through for to see him play and perhaps feed him/press money on him.

    Good luck with the job and the thesis, and I’ll look forward to seeing your occasional photos.

  7. Antonella said

    Happy blog birthday from me as well! Love your photos and your stories. I understand you not having time to post every day but please don’t give up totally. Wish you all the best for your new job. Ciao. A.

  8. Kcalpesh said

    Wish your blog a very happy 2nd birthday 😀 Would have loved to see a lot more photos coming but as you’re getting busier, I believe it’s a right decesion to hit the brakes and slow down and concentrate on the priorities, BUT, come back with a new photography blog as soon as possible…. All the best!

    World Photo Bloggers

  9. Lara said

    well, for me too it’s sometimes too much – working and blogging… so I understand, but I look forward for you posting 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
