Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Red sky at night

Posted by Jackie on December 13, 2009

SANY0130

I took this as I was going home from the university almost for the last time and heading for the bus stop on University Avenue, at the end of October. Unfortunately due to the exposure settings on the camera being a complete mystery to me, I was unable to reproduce the dark blue sky or the deep deep reds of the clouds. It was an amazing sky.

I went back to the university last week one evening after work – my PhD supervisors are being very accommodating and meeting me in the evenings when we need to meet. It was really strange being back, even though I’ve only been away a month and a half! It’s like a different world now I’ve got a proper job!

6 Responses to “Red sky at night”

  1. This is such a lovely silhouette! Great shot!

  2. Lara said

    the most amazing images await for us in the most unexpected and trivial places, I guess…

  3. Linda said

    It all sounds very poignant with your last visits to the University.

    A lovely evening shot despite camera settings. I’ve just started to grapple with these on my wee Canon Ixus – even on a compact camera they’re complicated. If you’re in Edinburgh and see a woman peering at a small camera and prodding buttons in frustration, that’s me.

  4. I find evening shots the most difficult to get balanced correctly. It is a great shot in any case.

  5. Katya said

    Beautiful, Jackie! It reminds me of the sky here this morning. I had to feed two hungry Scots, and by the time the camera was poised, the red sky was gone! I had two happy Scotties, though!

  6. Amy said

    Very pretty, love the pink

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
