Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Doors Open Day – Save Our Pool

Posted by Jackie on September 19, 2010

IMG_3107

This weekend is Doors Open Day in Glasgow and throughout Scotland (a similar concept, called Open Doors, operates down south, certainly in London this weekend too). The last couple of years I’ve been away this weekend, but this year I finally managed to get to the one venue I was really keen to visit, Govanhill Baths. This community facility was closed in 2001, but not without an occupation which lasted between March-August that year – there’s more history about this on the website of the Govanhill Baths Community Trust, who were giving guided tours of the pools. I’ll put a couple more pictures up over the next couple of days.

2 Responses to “Doors Open Day – Save Our Pool”

  1. Wayne said

    Jackie’s back!

    I’ve always thought the Opening Days were a great idea but I’ve never been in the right place at the right time.

  2. Linda said

    Good to see you! Same here – I always mean to visit certain places but the Day always takes me by surprise. Glad you got organised and saw what you wanted to.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
