Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Whitelee Windfarm

Posted by Jackie on September 27, 2010

IMG_3140

Just south of Glasgow is Europe’s largest windfarm, on Eaglesham Moor. You can find out more about the place here. They welcome visitors and have lots of trails around the turbines – we were here yesterday and saw lots of families with young kids walking or on bikes, and plenty of dogs having a change of scenery too. Highly recommended.

6 Responses to “Whitelee Windfarm”

  1. Wayne said

    I love wind farms.

  2. The view of the farm as you come up the M77 from Ayr is incredible. It stretches for miles or so it seems.

  3. Katya said

    We went to a place where there is a HUGE windfarm of over 150 turbines. I really love these turbines, as I have said before….to me, they are a sign of independence. Harnessing windpower seems like a good idea.

    I really like the angle you put on this photo! Very lovely, and the turbines don’t seem QUITE the giants they are!!!!

  4. Hi from the Visit_Whitelee competition team. We are delighted that you are sharing your photos of Whitelee online – did you know they could win you great prizes in our photography competition? Follow us on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/Visit_Whitelee. For competition details see here: http://tinyurl.com/33y3qrf Good luck!

  5. Jackie said

    Thanks Whitelee – actually I already follow you on twitter and am just trying to figure out which of my million photos to submit to the competition! 🙂

  6. Linda said

    I wonder how many windfarms there now are in Scotland. I remember the first turbines I saw, in Scotland. There was something quite epic in their scale.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
